St Joseph's Parish Timboon 31 Hamilton Street. PO Box 62, Timboon 3268 Phone: 5598 3193 Mobile: 0439 145 805 Fax: 5598 3681



St. Andrew's Simpson E-mail: timboon@ballarat.catholic.org.au Supervising Priest: Fr. Lawrie O'Toole



Thank you Father Dan

Fr Dan celebrated his last Mass with us on the 31st of July, in great style, administering Confirmation and Holy Communion to 11 of our young parishioners. There were 126 people at Mass, so he was able to see the Church full, following which there was a get-together in the church hall in his honour.

We extend our best wishes to him in his new role and he will remain in our thoughts and prayers for his 7 years with us. May retirement bring you many happy hours.

• Parish Leadership Team meeting Tuesday 16/08, at 7pm in the Presbytery.

Next Finance Committee Tuesday 23/08 at 6pm in Presbytery.

Refugee Sunday will be celebrated on 1st Sunday, September. Lunch and a film about refugees will follow Mass. To make the day eventful, we are asking for food and national costumes from your country of origin. If you are a plain old Aussie, bring a plate as well, thank you.

Fr Brendan Davey, retired, former PP of Ararat, died on Tues 9/8/2016. Vigil Prayers 7pm, Tues Aug 16th at St Patrick's Cathedral Ballarat.

Funeral Mass 11.00 am Wednesday August 17th , at Immaculate Conception Church Ararat with the committal to follow at the Ararat Cemetery.

In lieu of flowers, donations to St Vincent de Paul Ararat would be appreciated. May he rest in Peace.

"Bombs, blasphemy and religion in Pakistan" Presentation. Presentation by Fr Robert McCulloch on Friday, August 19, 2016 at Nazareth House, Ballarat. Mass at 6.00pm in the Chapel. Presentation at 7.00pm in the Hall, followed by supper. For further information contact Carmel Kavanagh, ph. 0401 175045 or 03 5332 2103 or email annekav123@vahoo.co.uk.

Feast of the Assumption. Monday 15th August. A lay-led service will be held at

12noon at St. Joseph's Church. This is still a Holy Day of Obligation.

The Parish of Timboon is a Parish with a Supervised Community Leadership. The Parish Leadership Team coordinates parish life and lay pastoral ministry supported by the Supervising Priest and the Visiting Priest.



Moderator: Jean McMeel Members: Marlene van Nieuwkerk, Katrina Currell, Gerard Vogels, Charles Martin, Pat Nicholson and Joanne Robertson

Parish Leadership Team:

Our sick: Ann Ryan, Terry McMeel, Pat Gaut, Sarah Vogels, Bailey Delaney, Ann Dodd, Andrew Cook, Frank Vogels, Heather Paton, Tania Vogels, John van Es, Margaret Dillon.

August Anniversaries: Vin O'Connor, Ettie McKinnon, Frank Maguire, Mary Wintle, Mary Maslin, Arthur Hammett and Martin Vogels.



Lay Pastoral Ministry Program offer the opportunities for individuals and parishes to develop lay ministry skills. The range of topics include Prayer, Leadership, Scripture, Social Justice, Youth to name a few. The courses are on line and each subject is of 5 weeks duration. For more information check the diocesan website or contact Amanda Smith on amanda.smith@ballarat.catholic.org.au or 0427748867

St Andrew's statue roster:

Aug 14th—C Cecil Aug 21 - J Wetemans Aug 28 B & F Wouters

Liturgy Formation at Hamilton Aug 21st 2016. Readers are invited to attend a workshop on presenting *The Word*. Other workshops are Diocesan Sacraments of Initiation : and Funeral ministry . Choose two from the three workshops on offer. Registration forms at the church. Need a ride see Gerard or Charles.

Date for Diary. An E-conference on "Mercy: A Way of being in the World" will take place on Tuesday 20th September from 10.30am—2.45pm at St. Joseph's Church.

Timboon	Aug 13th 6:00 p.m. Assembly of W & C	August 21st Mass 10:45 a.m.	Aug 27th 6:00 p.m. Assembly of W & C
Welcome	P Martin	A McMeel	F. Evans
Leaders	J McMeel R Hoffmann		E & T O'Connor
Statue	B Delaney	J & G Delaney	K Currell
Reader	C Marr	Joan McKenzie	C Martin
P.O.F.	P Nicholson	M Leske	A Vogels
Gifts		J & L McInerney	
M of C	C Bullen	P Martin C Marr	L Tregea
Church cleaning	E O'Connor	E O'Connor	E O'Connor
Bulletin	G Swierczek M Dillon S Berry	G Swierczek M Dillon S Berry	G Swierczek M Dillon S Berry
Slides	K Currell	K Currell	K Currell