

Parish of Timboon St Joseph's Timboon & St Andrew's Simpson Parish Priest: Fr. Neville Stanlislaus Visiting Priest: Fr. Peter Murnane Parish Secretary: George Swierczek 0439 145 805 Office and Presbytery: 31 Hamilton Street. PO Box 62, Timboon 3268 Phone: 5598 3193 Mobile: 0439 145 805 e-mail: timboon@ballarat.catholic.org.au



Pentecost Sunday Council update

Happy birthday to the Catholic Church! Happy birthday to you, who are the body of the Church! We're all familiar with our own birthdays, and we celebrate them because they mark the day of the year in which we entered

into this life. But did you know you have a second birthday?

Because you are part of the body of the Church. Pentecost is the Church's birthday. and yours as well. And like any birthday, it's a cause for celebration.

The word Pentecost is Greek and it means "50th day." Fifty days after Easter Sunday, we celebrate the coming of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles and their followers, and the beginning of their Earthly ministry to make disciples of all nations.

The symbols of Pentecost are the flame, wind, and the dove, which represents the Holv Spirit. The color of Pentecost is red and the priest wears red vestments on this day. Parishioners are also invited to wear red on this day. Red decorations as well as celebrations are appropriate, similar to any other birthday.

"Peace begins with a smile.."

"Everytime you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thina."

The person who gives with a smile is the best giver because God loves a cheerful giver." M Teresa.



Parish Pastoral

The process of discernment for members for the new Parish Pastoral Council was held recently. The

number of recommendations did not exceed the number required so a second round of discernment was not needed. These parishioners are the Parish Pastoral Council members:

Katrina Currell, Mary Dillon, Des Free, Anne McMeel and Gerard Vogels.

George Swierczek is an ex officio member. Fr Neville Stanislaus leads the Council. Thanks to everyone who participated in the process through their recommendations. The Parish Pastoral Council plans and looks forward. It works with and supports the Parish Priest and supports as needed the Parish's many Ministry Teams. The Pastoral Council shares in the responsibility for the ongoing life and development of the faith community, working together with parishioners to provide support for their efforts to live as followers of Christ.

Family Matters - Forum! With

quest speaker, Fr Frank Brennan (CEO of CSSA). Hosted by the Diocese of Ballarat through the Social Justice Commission. All are welcome to attend this free

event organised for Saturday, June 24 in Ballarat. Further forums will be held in Warrnambool on Saturday, July 22. Details how to register will be released soon.

Our Sick: Bailey Delaney, Andrew Cook, Frank Vogels, Tania Vogels, Xavier Reicha, Anne Dodd, Fletcher Densley.

June Anniversaries: Terry Tregea, Kevin Hession, Glad Scanlon, Pat Dundon, Monica Eanning, Brian Maslin, Brian Freeman, Jan Vogels(John), Marjorie Martin.



Contacting the Parish and Priest Please contact the Timboon Parish Secretary George Swierczek preferably on 0439 145 805, as needed. You can leave a message if you get the office answer machine - both phones are regularly checked and George will follow up the matter. He will make contact as needed with Fr Neville Stanislaus (Parish Priest) or Fr Peter Murnane (Visiting Priest, residing at Timboon.)

Contact details: Parish Secretary George Swierczek 0439 145 805 or 5598 3193 (Parish Office) or email: timboon@ballarat.catholic.org.au

Feast of the Sacred Heart Friday 23rd June 11:30 a.m.at St Andrew's Simpson. Blessing of the Divine Mercy picture followed by the Litany of the Sacred Heart, Divine Mercy chaplet and 20 minutes adoration. After this everyone is invited to a visit to the Chocolate factory in Lavers Hill Road, sandwiches will be provided. A warm welcome is extended to all.



Parish Finance Committee met with Amanda to discuss the future of this committee under our new parish model. A set of draft guidelines was agreed upon.

The main role of this committee is to meet regularly with Fr Neville to offer advice in regards to budgeting, and to the actual income and expenditure of our parish. The members are Cherolyn Bullen. Pat Nicholson and Catherine Marr. Parish Secretary is an ex officio member. Thanks to retiring members of this committee especially Anne McMeel for her very lengthy commitment to this ministry.

Simpson	4th June	June 11th	Jun 18th
•	9am Mass	9am Mass	9am Mass
Statue	M & M Dillon	N & E Weel	
Timboon	4th June 10.45am	10th June	June 18th 10.45am
	Mass	6pm	Mass
Welcome	F Evans	N McKinnon	P & J deJong
Leaders		K Currell T O'Connor	
Statue	M Turner	B Moloney	J & G Delaney
Reader	G Delaney	A Denny	R Hoffmann
P.O.F.	R Hoffmann	C Martin	K Currell
Gifts	T & E O'Connor		J & L McInerney
M of C	E Roberts M Leske	C Bullen	T & E O'Connor
Church Cleaning	K Currell K Delaney	K Currell K Delaney	K Currell K Delaney
Bulletin	P Nicholson	P Nicholson	P Nicholson
	M Moloney	M Moloney	M Moloney
Slides	A Vogels	A Vogels	A Vogels

