Our Diocese at a Glance

The Catholic Diocese of Ballarat is a diverse and geographically extensive Diocese of fifty-one parishes which covers the western third of Victoria, extending from the Murray River in the North to the Southern Ocean in the South. To the west it is bounded by the Archdiocese of Adelaide and the Diocese of Port Pirie, to the north by the Diocese of Wilcannia-Forbes and to the East by the Diocese of Sandhurst and the Archdiocese of Melbourne.

The Diocese has a number of provincial centres and large rural areas. There is a wide range and mix of primary and secondary industry and tourism and many places of natural beauty - the Great Ocean Road, the Grampians, the towns of the Murray River, the Little Desert and the goldfields.

The total population of the Diocese is 407,400 and the Catholic population is 102,018 (2011 Census). There are fifty-one parishes in the Diocese comprising one hundred and nine church communities. There are thirty-three priests working in parishes, one of whom also has significant role in tertiary education. They are supported by retired priests. Three priests work fully outside of the diocese in tertiary education or in the military ordinariate.  Forty of the fifty-one parishes have a parish priest who also cares for another parish.  There are two parishes who have formal lay-leadership; these are Parishes with Supervised Community Leadership and have a Supervising Priest and a Visiting Priest(s). Many lay people have leadership roles in parishes and many parishes share resources including lay personnel.




We are the Catholic Church in the Ballarat Diocese
we gather in the name of Jesus from the Murray to the sea
in interwoven faith communities. Spirit filled
we celebrate and share our journey
reaching out to nurture all God's people.

Diocesan Vision Statement 2005

All Enquiries

PO Box 576
Ballarat, Victoria 3353

Phone +61 3 5337 7111

Where to find us

Catholic Diocese of Ballarat
5 Lyons Street South
Ballarat, Victoria 3353