Saint Paul VI Parish, Wimmera-Mallee

Bishop Paul Bird CSsR decreed the establishment of a new parish in the diocese, Saint Paul VI Parish, Wimmera-Mallee as of July 1, 2021.  Read the decree here.

The new parish covers the area of the former parishes of Hopetoun, Horsham, Nhill and Warracknabeal and will include the DOBCEL schools:

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Hopetoun

St Patrick’s Primary School, Nhill

St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Warracknabeal

Ss Michael and John’s Primary School, Horsham

St Brigid’s College, Horsham

Our Lady’s Help of Christians Primary School, Murtoa

Monsignor Glynn Murphy and Fr Jim McKay have been serving in these parishes and they will continue their service in the new parish.

Contributions from parishioners assisted with the patronage of “Saint Paul VI Parish”.  Interesting facts for this patronage include St Paul being the first Pope to visit Australia and it will be the only Parish in this Diocese named after St Paul.