Diocesan Liturgical Commission

We see the Liturgy as the heart and the centre of our activity as Church.

Through pastoral experience, academic study, expertise and a genuine liturgical spirituality, the Commission strives to advise and support the Bishop in liturgical matters and to serve the people of the Diocese in all areas of worship.


Liturgical Commission Charter


  • The Commission assumes responsibility for Diocesan Liturgical Celebrations (in conjunction with the Cathedral Parish) – The Rite of Election for the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and Children, the Chrism Mass, Episcopal Ordinations, Ordinations to the Priesthood, Ordinations to the Diaconate and the annual celebration of Clergy Jubilarians Mass (this Mass is co-ordinated in conjunction with the Council of Priests and the Cathedral Parish).
  • The Commission provides support and leadership for other Diocesan celebrations such as Religious Professions, Commissioning of Diocesan Priests going to Missionary work and the funerals of Diocesan Clergy.
  • All works of the Commission are undertaken at the discretion of the Bishop of the Diocese.


(* also available from the members section of the website)

  • Materials for the provision of Sunday Assemblies of Word and Communion *
  • Diocesan Sacramental Certificates for:
    – Sacraments of Initiation for Children
    – Initiation of Adults
    – Reception into the Church
  • Sacramental Stoles and accompanying symbols for the Sacraments of Initiation
    (available for purchase from the Catholic Development Fund)

“Guidelines for the Celebration of the Sacraments for People with Disability” prepared by the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference, have been distributed to all parishes and schools in the diocese.  Additional copies may be purchased from the Australian Catholic Bishops Commission online shop www.catholic.org.au/shop.


Formation can be provided upon request and could include the following topics:

  • Sacraments of Initiation of Children;
  • Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and Children;
  • Training/formation programs for Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion and Lectors;
  • Workshops for the Liturgical Seasons;
  • Presiders Workshops for Clergy;
  • Liturgical music workshops for musicians and singers;
  • Funeral Ministry
  • Planning and celebrating liturgies – whether they be Sunday celebrations or not;
  • Sunday Assembly of Word & Communion;
  • Scripture reflection;
  • Ministry of preaching, planning homilies, preaching and the effective communication of


  • Most Rev Paul Bird CSsR (Ex-Officio)
  • Mrs Christine Bulger
  • Dr Susan Crowe
  • Mrs Gabrielle Ewing
  • Fr Gary Jones (Chair)
  • Mr Geoff Martin
  • Fr Anthony Nagothu
  • Mrs Julie Boyd (Administration Officer)


Administration Officer:
Postal Address: PO Box 576, Ballarat, 3353
Phone: (03) 5337 7159
Email: Diocesan Liturgical Commission